Week 1: Old-School Iphone?

Second week of lectures already? Time really does fly when you are having fun, so in this case, learning new knowledge about global networks in this world. (Yes, I actually paid attention in the lectures)

So far, I just had the second week of lecture and tutorial for this particular course, and so far I was amazed by how the world is all connected by the one single thing called, the internet. It is an obvious fact that we are all connected by the internet, especially in this generation, but learning how far we came from was what fascinated me!

In this week’s lecture, we learnt something called the Telegraph. In a sense, the telegraph was the first ever electrical invention to transmit messages to people without the use of messengers and mail. I would like to just call it the “old school WhatsApp” to make things easier for me to remember.

The first ever Telegraph was first created in 1837, with several improvements in the coming years later like the “First trans-Atlantic Cable” in 1866, which the speed was 8 words per minute. I wonder how long arguing would take back in the day when using these antiques, because nowadays people can send essays of texts within seconds.
addtext_com_MDI1NDQxMzE1Ng.png

Other fun facts I learnt was that the telephone was first ever invented in 1876, telephone operators would be girls and also a guy name Alan Turing is known to be “The Father of Modern Computing, Patron Saint of Cryptographers and Hackers”.

 

3 thoughts on “Week 1: Old-School Iphone?

  1. I totally agree with you, the invention of telegraph was truly amazing and you were right it was like Whatsapp back in day.

    Like

  2. It truly is quite amazing how the telegraph set the stage for the concept of long distance communication and who knows what our smartphones are setting the stage for in the future, but I hope I’ll still be here to witness it.

    Like

Leave a comment