Blog 5: End Game In Hong Kong

End Game for Hong Kong? Oh! You meant the Marvel movie End Game! Silly me!

See the source image

The movie End Game came out a few months ago and it was a huge success in terms of production and storyline! Personally, I was not a major fan of Marvel movies, but the hype was in every corner…literally. On social media, conversations on the streets and even on the bloody MTR! Bombarded with End Game posters…EVERYWHERE. My partner was dying to watch the movie as well, so with that in mind, I decided to watch the movie.

My partner and I decided to watch the movie in a budget cinema in Mong Kok called Dynasty Théâtre. I totally recommended to go to this cinema if you are into a vintage looking cinema, and if you are on a budget. The location is around a 10 min walk from Olympic station, with the alternative of going out from Mong Kok station as well. The End Game movie was overpriced in almost all cinemas, with some tickets soaring up to $200HKD for just one ticket! But for Dynasty?

See the source image

Take a guess.

$50. Ain’t even joking here. 

This was finding gold in a silver mine, being able to watch the such an anticipated movie, with vintage feels and with a super reasonable price! The capability constraint was dealt easily due to the pricing and transportation. As well as the coupling constraint, with my partner and I being quite free to find this movie, despite our busy schedules. Other cinemas around Hong Kong were all packed already, so this was really quite the charm to find.

During the movie screening, you could feel everyone’s anticipation of the movie. My partner could not stop whispering to me how much she was excited to watch this after all the trailers she replayed on a daily basis.

From what I learnt in the lectures, never really gave a deeper thought about sharing this media public space when watching movies in the cinema. We all have different feelings towards the media being shown, yet it we all our experiencing the same film and venue?

See the source image

Heterotopia: that space has the capacity to host multiple meanings for different users, at the same time.

The movie was a definitely one to remember. I never thought directors would be able to mix comedy, thrill and action together. But somehow, they did it so perfectly it was just majestic to watch. Not a huge Marvel fan, but I had a few good laughs in there.  Overall, I the movie made quite an impact towards hardcore fans in the cinema, with some even in tears and thrill going up and down like an insane roller coaster ride.

References

Leave a comment